Garza

The

Law Firm, PLLC

865.540.8300

KNOXVILLE, TN DUI /DWI DEFENSE ATTORNEY

Tennessee DUI Lawyers Protecting Your Future

DISCLAIMER: The information on this website should not be construed as legal advice. Any information submitted by our online intake form does not create an attorney-client relationship between you and The Garza Law Firm, PLLC, until you sign a contract of representation. Although we cannot guarantee that information sent over the internet will not be intercepted, we will keep the information confidential once it is received by our office.

Knoxville, Tennessee DUI attorneys serving clients throughout Tennessee, MOST ALL COUNTIES and CITIES in TENNESSEE including: Alcoa • Anderson County • Athens • Blount County • Campbell County • Claiborne County • Clinton • Cocke County •Grainger County• Jefferson City • Jefferson County • Knoxville • Knox County • Lenoir City • Loudon County • Maryville •McMinn County • Newport • Oak Ridge • Roane County • Sevierville • Sevier County • Gatlinburg • Pigeon Forge • Union County Bledsoe County • Bradley County • Chattanooga • Cleveland • Marion County • Monroe County • Polk County • Sequatchie County

Copyright © 2008-2011 The Garza Law Firm, PLLC. All rights reserved.

Contact Form

POWER ATTORNEYS 2010
Marcos M. Garza

AVVO Client Reviews

Under Tennessee law a person can be charged and convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if he or she drives or is in physical control of a motor vehicle on a public roadway and


1. Has a breath/blood alcohol content of .08 or above; Or


2. Is under the influence of alcohol; Or


3. Is under the influence of drugs (prescribed or otherwise); Or


4. Is under the combined influence of alcohol or drugs.


Penalties for Driving Under the Influence (DUI)


DUI 1ST offense:


Fine: $350 minimum; $1,500.00 maximum.


Jail: minimum 48 hours (along with 24 hours litter pick-up); maximum 11 months and 29 days


mandatory 7 consecutive days if blood alcohol exceeds .20%.


Driver’s license revoked for 1 year.


DUI 2ND offense:


Fine: $600.00 minimum; $3,500 maximum.


Jail: minimum 45 days; maximum 11 months and 29 days.


Driver’s license is revoked for 2 years


Inpatient alcohol or drug treatment available as jail credit.


Possible forfeiture of vehicle if used in the offense.


DUI 3RD offense:


Fine: $1,100.00 minimum; $10,000.00 maximum


Jail: minimum 120 days; maximum 11 months and 29 days


Driver’s license revoked for 3 years to 10 years.


Possible forfeiture of vehicle.


DUI 4TH offense:


Class E felony conviction.


Fine: $3,000 minimum; $15,000.00 maximum.


Jail: minimum 150 days; maximum 6 years.


Driver’s license revoked for 5 years


Possible forfeiture of vehicle.


DUI or DWI convictions count as prior offenses for either charge, as do convictions in another state. A DUI or DWI within the last 10 years is considered. If you have one DUI within the last 10 years, the court will consider DUIs and DWI convictions that go back 20 years.


Tennessee DUI Laws & Penalties

“When I was confronted with not just one, but two DUIs (one involving a collision), I turned to Marcos Garza for representation. I initially chose Marcos because of his association with Steve Oberman, a noted DUI attorney. What I discovered was that I had made the best possible choice for my attorney. “