Law Firm, PLLC
KNOXVILLE, TN DUI /DWI DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Tennessee DUI Lawyers Protecting Your Future
DISCLAIMER: The information on this website should not be construed as legal advice.
Any information submitted by our online intake form does not create an attorney-
Knoxville, Tennessee DUI attorneys serving clients throughout Tennessee, MOST ALL COUNTIES and CITIES in TENNESSEE including: Alcoa • Anderson County • Athens • Blount County • Campbell County • Claiborne County • Clinton • Cocke County •Grainger County• Jefferson City • Jefferson County • Knoxville • Knox County • Lenoir City • Loudon County • Maryville •McMinn County • Newport • Oak Ridge • Roane County • Sevierville • Sevier County • Gatlinburg • Pigeon Forge • Union County Bledsoe County • Bradley County • Chattanooga • Cleveland • Marion County • Monroe County • Polk County • Sequatchie County
Copyright © 2008-
Tennessee Underage DWI Attorney
Underage Driving While Intoxicated is a similar offense to DUI in Tennessee, however, does not accompany jail time and results in a $250 fine versus $350 minimum fine for DUI. Although a underage DWI is considered a lesser charge than DUI, it maintains much of the stigma and negative effects on a person’s life as a regular “adult” DUI. Therefore, the defense of an Underage DWI is treated as just as significant as the potential for a regular DUI conviction.
Tennessee Code Annotated describes a Underage DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) as follows:
(a)(1) A person age sixteen (16) or over but under age twenty-
(A) The alcohol concentration in the person's blood is more than two hundredths of one percent (0.02%);
(B) Under the influence of alcohol;
(C) Under the influence of any intoxicant, marijuana, narcotic drug, or drug producing stimulating effects on the central nervous system; or
(D) Under the combined influence of alcohol and any other drug set out in subdivision (a)(1)(C) to a degree which makes the person's driving ability impaired.
(2) For purposes of this section, "drug producing stimulating effects on the central nervous system" has the same meaning and includes the same items set out in HYPERLINK .
(b) The fact that any person who drives while under the influence of narcotic drugs or barbital drugs is or has been entitled to use such drugs under the laws of this state does not constitute a defense to the violation of this section.
(c) This section establishes the offense of underage driving while impaired for any
person age sixteen (16) or over but under age twenty-
(d)(1) The offense of underage driving while impaired for a person age eighteen (18)
or over but under age twenty-
(2) The delinquent act of underage driving while impaired for a person age sixteen (16) or over but under the age of eighteen (18) is punishable only by a driver license suspension of one (1) year and by a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250). As additional punishment, the court may impose public service work.
(e) A person age sixteen (16) or over but under the age of eighteen (18) who commits the offense of underage driving while impaired commits a delinquent act.
“One of TN's few Elite Lawyers. Knows the laws like no other in TN, easy to talk to, never too busy for a client, and AFFORDABLE!”